Haiti: What can I do?

As most of you, I am saddened by the tragedy in Haiti and I wonder how I can help.  Which organizations are really going to get relief to those in need?  I have given to the Red Cross, I have donated supplies and a tent to a container going over through my church and I still wonder what else I can do? I am including them in my prayers and meditations. Is it enough?

Today I received a request for funds to help support a local surgical team, lead by Dr. Barth Green a neuro surgeon in Miami.  They need money and supplies to continue their service in the trenches.  I would like to help them and will get more information on how to do that.

Lastly, I met a man Sunday at church that is the director of fund-raising for three orphanages in Haiti.  He said there were over 280 children displaced and he is trying to work with immigration to get these children into safe homes.  Would I be willing to take in a child?

If you have suggestions or have felt  like you are really helping those in need please share your thoughts and your experiences.  I am so moved by those risking their life to help, I would like to take a more active role.

Desiring to help more,

Dr. Brent

