Developing a Disposition of Gratitude

We are coming up again on my favorite time of year; yes, Thanksgiving. I always feel so much better when I have the time to reflect internally on my “Attitude of Gratitude”. There are times in all of our lives when we wonder what we have to be grateful for. Maybe a loved one is suffering or recently passed away, we lose a job or a house, we experience damaged relationships and even divorce. All of these are tragic in their own way to our spirits. Yet, I am always amazed at how some people no matter what ails them are grateful. I learned through their example that gratitude is not what we do after our problems are solved, but rather a lifestyle. I recently read an article by Dieter F. Uchtdorf, one of my heroes from Germany. He said, “It might sound contrary to the wisdom of the world to suggest that one who is burdened with sorrow should give thanks to God. But those who set aside the bottle of bitterness and lift instead the goblet of gratitude can find a purifying drink of healing, peace, and understanding…” He suggested that we see gratitude as a disposition, a way of life that is independent of our current situation.

Whether life is dealing us great temporal and spiritual blessings or we are experiencing trials, it is my prayer that this Thanksgiving season we might reflect on a continual disposition of gratitude. One that brings hope where hope does not seem possible, light where there is darkness and peace in the midst of chaos. I am thankful for a community of friends and family that surrounds me and my family with support, kindness and love. I am thankful for those who have been able to see past my shortcomings and have the courage to help me right my wrongs and be a better person.
May God bring you increased peace, health and love this holiday season and a heart filled with gratitude for the sake of being a grateful person.

Thank you,

Brent

Grateful 2014

